The vineyard

In the middle of the stones life and energy wind: that of an exceptional wine, the fruit of a subtle earth.

THE SPIRIT

The vineyard has almoste 14 hectares of vines spread over 16 plots. The black grape varieties are Grenache, Cabernet-Sauvignon, Syrah, Mourvèdre, and Macabeu, Malvoisie and Chardonnay for the white grape varieties. Most plants come from mass selections which, unlike clonal selection, offer genetic diversity of plant material. The soils of Al Parico are clayey and mostly shallow (less than 40cm) with a subsoil of limestone sedimentary rocks (Marés and Piedra viva). The island of Menorca, with its Mediterranean climate, is particularly exposed to the tramontana, a consequence of its relatively flat relief. These pedoclimatic conditions guided concrete choices: adapted rootstocks, distribution of grape varieties according to soil depth, North-South orientation of the rows.

From the outset, we wanted to place the vineyard in the landscape and local context. Far from monotonous monoculture, the principle is to preserve the very essence of the place: only plant areas suitable for cultivation, keep the trees present in the plots, maintain the dry stone walls and the old drainage systems. waters, or even preserve biodiversity. We want to produce by and with the living, by drawing our inspiration and our resources from our direct environment, like the pine forest bordering the vineyard which generates a significant production of biomass without any human help.

THE WAY

For the sake of quality and resistance to drought, the vines are grown in cups on individual stakes for the grape varieties with a drooping habit and without stakes for those with an erect habit, in order to reproduce what nature operates spontaneously: a vine which, thanks to These tendrils climb trees and walls. Tying the vines in season creates a parasol protecting the grapes from scalding. The reasoned approach also results in a low planting density avoiding overexploitation of the soil. Finally, our desire to adopt water-saving practices preserves the environment and forces the roots of the vine to plunge into the ground to draw on its reserves.

The plots are sown with green manures (grasses, crucifers, legumes) in autumn and mowed or rolled at the start of the vine's vegetative cycle. Natural grass cover is left on the remaining plots where the Al Parico sheep graze during the winter. The objective is to minimize soil work between the rows to contribute to the creation of living soils essential to the sustainability of the vineyard.

Le vignoble

Au milieu des pierres serpente la vie et l’énergie : celle d’un vin d’exception, fruit d’une terre subtile.

L’ÂME

Le vignoble compte presque 14 hectares de vignes répartis sur 16 parcelles. Les cépages noirs sont le Grenache, le Cabernet-Sauvignon, la Syrah, le Mourvèdre, et le Macabeu, la Malvoisie le Chardonnay pour les cépages blancs. La plupart des pieds proviennent de sélections massales qui, à la différence de la sélection clonale, offrent une diversité génétique du matériel végétal. Les sols d’Al Parico sont argileux et majoritairement peu profonds (inférieurs à 40cm) avec un sous-sol de roches sédimentaires calcaires (Marés et Piedra viva). L’île de Minorque, au climat méditerranéen, est particulièrement exposée à la tramontane, conséquence de son relief relativement plat. Ces conditions pédoclimatiques ont guidé des choix concrets : porte-greffes adaptés, répartition des cépages selon la profondeur du sol, orientation Nord-Sud des rangs.

Dès l’origine, nous avons souhaité inscrire le vignoble dans le paysage et le contexte local. Loin de la monoculture monotone, le principe est de conserver l’essence même du lieu : ne planter que les zones propices à la culture, garder les arbres présents dans les parcelles, entretenir les murs en pierres sèches et les anciens systèmes d’évacuation des eaux, ou encore préserver la biodiversité. Nous voulons produire par et avec le vivant, en puisant notre inspiration et nos ressources dans notre environnement direct, à l’image de la pinède limitrophe du vignoble qui génère sans aucune aide humaine une importante production de biomasse.

LA MANIÈRE

Par souci de qualité et de résistance à la sécheresse, la vigne est conduite en gobelet sur échalas individuel pour les cépages à port retombant et sans échalas pour ceux à port érigé, afin de reproduire ce que la nature opère spontanément : une liane qui grâce à ces vrilles grimpe sur les arbres et les murs. L’attachage des rameaux en saison crée un parasol protégeant le raisin de l’échaudage. L’approche raisonnée se traduit également par une faible densité de plantation évitant la surexploitation du sol. Enfin, notre volonté d’adopter une conduite économe en eau préserve l’environnement et force les racines de la vigne à plonger dans le sol pour y puiser ses réserves.

Les parcelles sont semées d'engrais verts (graminées, crucifères, légumineuses) à l’automne et fauchés ou roulés au début du cycle végétatif de la vigne. L’enherbement naturel est laissé sur le restant des parcelles où les moutons d’Al Parico paissent durant l’hiver. L’objectif est de minimiser les travaux du sol dans l’inter-rang pour participer à la constitution de sols vivants indispensables à la pérennité du vignoble.